(in preparation)




The construction of AMS-02 is an undertaking of many individuals and organizations. The support of NASA and the U.S. Dept. of Energy has been vital in the inception, development and fabrication of the experiment. The interest and support of Mr. Daniel S. Goldin, former NASA Administrator, is gratefully acknowledged. The dedication of Dr. John O'Fallon, Dr. Peter Rosen and Dr. P.K. Williams of U.S. DOE, our Mission Management team, Dr. Douglas P. Blanchard, Mr. Mark J. Sistilli and Mr. James R. Bates, NASA, Dr. Susan Breon, GSFC-NASA, Mr. Kenneth Bollweg and Mr. T. Martin, Lockheed-Martin, the support of the space agencies from Germany (DLR), Italy (ASI), France (CNES), Spain (CDTI) and China (CALT) and the support of CSIST, Taiwan, have made the construction possible.

The support of GSI--Darmstadt, particularly of Dr. Reinhard Simon made it possible for us to test electronics components for radiation effects.

The support of INFN, Italy, IN2P3, Region Rhone-Alpes and Haute Savoie, France, CIEMAT and CICYT, Spain, LIP, Portugal, CHEP, Korea, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the National Natural Science Foundation and the Ministry of Science and Technology of China, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, the U.S. NSF, M.I.T., ETH-Zűrich, the University of Geneva, National Central University and National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan, Moscow State University, SEU, Nanjing, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, the National Laboratory of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Beijing, RWTH-Aachen, the University of Turku and the University of Technology of Helsinki, is gratefully acknowledged.

We are also grateful for the strong support and interest shown from the private sector, including Dr. E. Ettlinger, Linde, Dr. R. Herzog, ILK, Dresden, Mr. J. Ross, Mr. S. Milward and Mr. S. Harrision of SCL, Culham, UK, Mr. M. Molina, CGS, Milan, Mr. F. Petroni, CAEN, Viareggio, Mr. A. Poseda, CRISA (Astrium), Madrid, Ing. A. Pontetti, G&A Engineering, Italy, Dr. E.A. Werner and Dr. J. Krieger, ISATEC, Aachen, and Dr. H. Bieri, Bieri Engineeering, Switzerland.

We thank Professors A. De Rujula, J. Ellis, A. Guth, L. Maiani, for many interesting discussions and support.